Mountains, Gandalf, I want to see mountains again!

I’m sitting in what might be one of the coolest coffee shops I’ve ever been in in Boulder, CO – The Cup. Best of several different worlds converge here: good fair trade coffee, sassy service, awesome music, great fun atmosphere, university students gallore, and…mountains.

I mean, here’s what happened today that just validated why this place is awesome: I came in all disheveled from spending three days backcountry camping in Rocky Mountain National Park, looking all Colorado & all, and I grab a cup and the cashier says, “if you want to sink shower here, no one will be worried dude.”

Nice.

If you are ever looking for an amazing vacation to see all of the beauty and wonder of creation, just one word: Colorado. I got in late on Friday to visit my long-time friend from college, and we crashed Pikes Peak on Saturday and then climbed Mount Rosa on Sunday.  Monday I tooled around Old Colorado City and found another great haunt to perch in and read for a little while.

Then I caught the tram to Denver, rented a car, and headed to Boulder to catch up with two friends from college who have been here for the last five (!) years.

Boulder is a great town…think Madison or Austin but a little more chill and a lot healthier. And more tatts. Seriously – this place is wonderful. When Drew and Kim told me about it, I didn’t believe it at first…but it’s gorgeous.

Other interesting thing about Colorado: Most people who live here aren’t from here.

After three days of being in Rocky Mountain National Park, camping and sitting and just taking in beautiful vista after vista, I feel restored. I forget this about myself sometimes, but getting out in seeing the beauty of creation just brings something to my soul that I can’t put into words. I breathe deeply, gaze out into the horizon, and am in awe of how amazing this planet is.

My mom said once my eyes turn bluer when I’m outside.

Maybe it’s because I’m getting back to what gives me life.

Bilbo was right – “Mountains, Galdalf, I want to see mountains again!”

I think I’m already ready for another adventure.

1 Response to “Mountains, Gandalf, I want to see mountains again!”


  1. 1 Thomas August 28, 2009 at 5:25 am

    i know exactly how you feel, colorado is AWESOME.
    i realized the other day that this is the first summer in 5 years that i haven’t been, and serious mountain withdrawal is setting in. i’m jealous. sounds like an awesome trip.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Top Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

