Watchdog Renaissance & Hometown Pride?

I get the NY Times in my inbox everyday and I usually get about 20 minutes of reading time in.  I read good news and bad news everyday.

Today’s good news from the NY Times is that we may be seeing a reporting renaissance that could spur on more folks who do the same.  The journalism industry seems to be reinventing itself with the increased accessibility of publishing through the internet, so there are several strategies moving forward.  Having a low overhead, not-for-profit approach that is based on journalists recapturing the integrity of their profession is a great way we could see watchdogs back in the news room.

You stay classy, San Diego.

But then, if watchdogs do their job right, they uncover stuff we aren’t all that excited to have made public.  Which leads me to my next point – the NY Times took the liberty of exposing my hometown for regular underage drinking as it talked about the Wisconsin drinking culture.

I don’t know how people in Edgerton are responding, but I think some of us are slightly embarrassed that our town makes the National Press for…underage drinking.  Of course, just one look at our team song and you can see why our nickname isn’t exactly the most healthy…

We are loyal Edgerton

Loyal and True

Though the odds be great or small

We’ll be cheering you

U-RAH-RAH

We are loyal, Edgerton

To the fair name

Fight, fight forever

Tobacco City win this ga-a-ame.

3 Responses to “Watchdog Renaissance & Hometown Pride?”


  1. 1 Lisa November 18, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    I’ve been reading _In His Steps_ , the old Sheldon classic. One of the characters owns a newspaper and decides to publish only news that is edifying and also stops advertising alcohol and tobacco. The paper goes under. (I’m not done yet, but last I read he was talking about needing an endowment and becoming a non-profit paper funding by a Christian school). It’s interesting.

  2. 2 Matt November 18, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    I also read the article… Jim and I were commiserating about it this morning. He had an interesting angle on it – imagine being the school board president in that town.

  3. 3 andybilhorn November 19, 2008 at 2:40 am

    I wonder if it’s possible for a nfp approach to actually work in the media – but with the internet driving down publishing costs, it might actually work. I’ve never read “In His Steps,” but I’m sure it’s interesting.

    Jim is right about that. Who is poor president of the school board these days, Matt? Tell me what the Repeater says tomorrow about the whole thing. I’m sure it will be the topic of conversation in Piggly Wiggly, Edgerton Drugs, the teachers lounge, etc all day tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

