Honesty in Despair: Richard the Ageless Wonder Revealed

Ageless Guyliner, by Loreal..or Richard Alpert

The ladies may like Richard Alpert’s dashingly debonair eyelashes, but last episode I finally felt like I got to hear something from Richard that helped me respect his character much more before he attempted to blow himself to bits:

“I devoted my life — longer than you can possibly imagine — in service of a man who told me that everything was happening for a reason. That he had a plan. A plan that I was a part of. And when the time was right, he would share it with me.”

One of the characteristics to which I am most attracted in people is honesty – particularly those who name what is really there, and not prone to cover it for the sake of preservation of image, vanity, or saving face.

Why? I think it’s because the folks who have done that for me have opened me to the deepest level of honesty with God and myself.  Those closest to me know my doubts in faith.  Whenever I hear students who have rejected the faith because of hypocrisy, I typically say, “You wanna hear my story?”  Nine times out of ten, I win this deranged “christian abuse” competition.

I’ve had in wondering when we pray the prayer, “Thy Kingdom Come, Thy Will Be Done, On Earth as it is in Heaven,” that God truly answers it.  More often than not, I look at the world around me and wonder, “Really God? This is your plan? Us? You gotta be kiddin’ me…”

While I have been a little disappointed with this season of LOST (I still have hope), I appreciate that some characters have had their true natures revealed.  Richard has always been the enigma of LOST that I didn’t know what his role was to be…until now.  He’s the faithful servant who has worked in hope of what could be, what should be – but when that is taken away, the purpose to which he has devoted his life and love seems…lost.  (Pun intended.)

Jack still has hope, and Jack seems to be assuming his role of protagonist once again and moving into what we saw in Season 1 – the reluctant leader.

I can’t watch tonight because I have a church meeting (no spoilers on the comments, please), but I look forward to more of how Richard is revealed.

0 Responses to “Honesty in Despair: Richard the Ageless Wonder Revealed”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

